Washington, D.C. – The National Association of Counties (NACo) today announced that the Kerr-Tar Hub members counties of Franklin, Granville, Vance and Warren collectively are one of 10 recipients of its prestigious 2006-2007 Center for Sustainable Communities Awards.

The awards, presented every two years by NACo's Center for Sustainable Communities, recognize the most effective and innovative county-led partnerships with private sector, other governments or community groups in developing economically prosperous, environmentally safe, and socially equitable communities.
The counties were honored for their Kerr-Tar Regional Economic Development Corporation initiative. (See project description below.) Honorees will receive their awards during a reception this winter in Washington, D.C. Winners were selected by a panel of independent judges.

"I commend everyone who was involved in developing these outstanding community partnerships," said NACo President Eric Coleman, commissioner, Oakland County, Mich. "It is our hope that the national awards will spotlight your communities' great achievements and inspire others across the country to explore similar strategies to develop vibrant and sustainable communities."

NACo's Center for Sustainable Communities primary mission is to provide a forum for county leaders to work with other governments, the private sector, and communities to develop policies and programs that will lead to economic enhancement, environmental stewardship and social well-being — the three pillars of sustainable communities. The center helps local elected officials build sustainable communities by promoting community leadership initiatives, facilitating multi-jurisdictional and public-private partnerships, providing technical assistance and training, and conducting community policy and educational forums.

The sponsors for the 2007 Center for Sustainable Communities Awards Program include: Bank of America, Freddie Mac, the International Center of Shopping Centers, the Institute for Building Technology and Safety, the National Association of Home Builders, the National Association of Realtors, and the Nehemiah Corporation of America.

The National Association of Counties (NACo) is the only national organization that represents county governments in the United States. Founded in 1935, NACo provides essential services to the nation's 3,066 counties. NACo advances issues with a unified voice before the federal government, improves the public's understanding of county government, assists counties in finding and sharing innovative solutions through education and research, and provides value-added services to save counties and taxpayers money.

For more information about NACo, visit www.naco.org.

For more information about the NACo Center for Sustainable Communities, contact Abby Friedman at afriedman@naco.org or 202-942-4225.


  1. There are no comments yet.

Leave a Comment